• phone: 978.283.1909
  • email: cbfisk@cbfisk.com

Opus 111

Catlett Music Center, University of Oklahoma

Norman, OK

Ranks: 45
Independent Voices: 33
Pipes: 2466
Created: 1999

Print this page

The Mildred Andrews Boggess Memorial Organ is named in memory of the esteemed University of Oklahoma organ professor who for thirty-eight years dedicated her life to her students.  A bequest from her estate provided the initial funds for this instrument.

One enters the Catlett Music Center through the cathedral-like Gothic Hall, so named because of its soaring proportions and complex steel and brick structure. This airy, spacious entrance to the adjoining Paul Sharp Concert Hall has superbly resonant acoustics very agreeable to the organ. The organ sits prominently on the second floor gallery and speaks into the length of Gothic Hall. 

C. B. Fisk was chosen to build the organ by Dr. Clark Kelly, Professor of Organ at the university at that time. Opus 111’s eclectic specification was developed to cover the wide range of the organ literature. This three-manual and pedal organ of thirty-three stops has direct mechanical key-action with electric stop action and 128 levels of combination memory. The casework is of quartered white oak with mahogany accents that echo the steel truss work of the hall. Hammered spotted metal façade pipes gleam with color as the afternoon sun sweeps over the instrument.

The manual divisions take their wind from a single cuneiform bellows with a pressure of 3¼”.  The Pedal has a separate bellows with wind pressure of 4¼”.  

An active concert series features notable performers from throughout the United States, Europe and Asia.

Opus 111

Great, Manual I
Prestant 16′
Octave 8′
Spillpfeife 8′
Flûte harmonique 8′
Octave 4′
Superoctave 2′
Mixture VI-VII
Trumpet 8′
Clairon 4′

Positive, Manual II
Principal 8′
Gedackt 8′
Octave 4′
Rohrflöte 4′
Nazard 2 2/3′
Doublette 2′
Tierce 1 3/5′
Scharff IV
Cromorne 8′

Swell, Manual III,
Bourdon 16′
Violin Diapason 8′
Voix céleste 8′
Flûte traversière 8′
Dulciane 4′
Flûte octaviante 4′
Octavin 2′
Plein jeu IV
Bombarde 16′
Trompette 8′
Hautbois 8′

Pedal, 32 notes
Bourdon 32′      resultant
Prestant 16′       Great
Bourdon 16′
Octave 8′
Violon 8′      Swell
Flûte 8′       Swell
Superoctave 4′
Posaune 16′
Bombarde 16′      Swell
Trompette 8′       Swell


Positive to Great
Swell to Great
Swell to Positive
Great to Pedal
Positive to Pedal
Swell to Pedal
Swell super to Pedal


Wind Stabilizer
Balanced Swell Pedal
Crescendo Pedal

Fisk II temperment

61/32 Key compasses
Mechanical Key Action
Electric Stop Action
Combination Action